my 3rd mothers day in retrospect

Yesterday was my 3rd mother’s day, 4th if you count being pregnant (which biodad didn’t), and it has to go down as the best one I’ve had yet. Also the first that I didn’t spend with my own mum (out of choice and not distance) and yes I feel a little guilty for not spending the day with her but at the same time I also don’t. I have a child now which means I also get to enjoy mother’s day. Right? Plus she has my sister and brother still around.

Yes I know I am just trying to make myself feel better, you don’t have to point it out.

Well what made the day so absolutely amazing? I spent the morning baking cupcakes (what else would I be doing haha) for a mommybloggers meetup in houtbay! I got the invite last week (made me feel a little famous for a while there) and with some threatening gentle persuasion ScaredMom got me to agree to go.

I am SO glad I did! After spending the morning getting lost on the way to fetch ScaredMom (don’t even ask) we headed to Clay Café in Hout Bay to meet up and make friends with a few fellow mommy bloggers! Had great conversations with LolaByTheSea, ScaredMomDarlingClaire and a few ladies from good housekeeping SA while trying to dodge RaisingMen – who’s eldest and fish have the same name – and her camera (now I know how others feel around me!)

I can’t wait to see what my plate looks like once it’s been fired in the kiln! Both the kids and the adults were given the go ahead to paint but in all honesty I think it was the adults who enjoyed it more ;)

After Clay Café we headed down to Hout Bay beach where, get this, ScaredMom put her feet in the sand! We had ice cream till the cold got too much and then headed back to ScaredMom’s cozy cottage for dinner.

Hands down a phenomenal day in my books. Thank you to each that made it so special and of course a huge thank you to my fishness because without my gorgeous little blonde boy I wouldn’t be able to call myself a mum.

it takes a lot of concentration to paint faeries and rhino’s just so by the way

and while the kids paint the mums need a lesson in how to!

my awesome cupcake plate, fish’s messy little side plate and scaredmom’s gorgeous bowl

i finally used the AWESOME cupcake “tea set” i got from @emydiesel for my birthday!

RaisingMen’s cutie pie!

the name twins. and their mommies (myself and RaisingMen)

fish’s favorite thing in the whole world – ice cream at the beach

i have proof that scaredmom was actually at the beach!

scaredmom and amadalynn

how scaredmom actually does “nature”

6 thoughts on “my 3rd mothers day in retrospect

  1. IT REALLY WAS A GREAT DAY! THANK YOU AGAIN! AND PLEASE DO TELL THE STORY ON HOW YOU GOT LOST TO MY HOUSE AFTER YOU HAVE BEEN THERE TWICE!

  2. Pingback: Motherday weekend May bring more change « Scaredmom's Blog

  3. Pingback: Motherday weekend May bring more change | The Stiletto Mum

Leave a Reply

