stop, smell the roses and jump in that puddle

There are things I love to do even though they aren’t “age appropriate”, things that my son has taught me actually and I am one hundred percent certain that 6 out of 10 people would happily point out that I am childish and should grow up.

You know what though? Life comes with so many responsibilities that I really don’t care how the hell people look at me when I jump in puddles or go out of my way to stand on a crunchy leaf or a mussel shell on the beach. When I dive into a pool before putting my toes in, walk around barefoot or climb trees and dance in the rain with fish.

There are those moments when I wish I could ship him off to the sperm donor or that things were different and I wasn’t a mom. But he has taught me to see things differently, to revel in the wonder of the moon and the feeling of the grass under your bare feet.

So yeah, maybe you look at me like I’m a friggin crazy chop but childhood is the best time of our lives so I’m going to make sure that my son has an amazing one with a mum who doesn’t mind playing in the mud with him. Take a page out a child’s book for a few minutes, stop and look around you. Isn’t life amazing?

You don’t stop playing because you grow old. You grow old because you stop playing. – George Bernard Shaw

Now if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to fetch my little monster from school and have an ice cream on the beach. Just because we can.

One thought on “stop, smell the roses and jump in that puddle

Leave a Reply

