ink on paper

Last week I received an email asking if I would be willing to write an article for a parenting magazine. The directions and constraints were simple yet vague enough to give me “artistic license”.

Today I decided to tackle it, at first I sat down at the computer and opened up a word document but I decided I would much prefer to put pen to paper.

Writing an article is not at all as easy as I thought it would be, I’m used to writing here where my grammar, spelling and lack of proper studies in journalism or such is not a real matter. It was daunting to say the least, I sat for a long period just staring at a blank page but once I got started it was word vomit, everything came pouring out.

Although I had a really hard time trying to paragraphs and concepts I was trying to get across to flow properly into one another and I there were quite a few times when a paragraph better suited what I was trying to convey and then it was as if starting all over again.

Delighted to declare I was able to finish the first draft of it and will be typing it up tomorrow for editing, word count and so on. Then it’s off to the magazine for approval… Oh the nerves and excitement!

5 thoughts on “ink on paper

  1. Very exciting!! Congratulations! I look forward to reading it, make sure you let us all know when it gets published. I’m currently working on editing a children’s article, a few short stories, delaying revising a novel and coming up with every excuse to to add chapters to my memoire! Writing is awesome, but it is definitely hard work.

Leave a Reply

