i need a hero

Now I am a very stubborn person and I am more than capable of looking after myself… But every now and then I watch a movie like footloose or read a book like the night circus and I think that maybe it’d be nice to be independent, with someone.

So for the ladies who know they deserve better than they have had to put up with in the past. This is for you. Yes, we are each our own hero BUT… Wouldn’t it be nice for someone to watch the watchers for a change? It’s tiring being so damned independent all the time…

Where have all the good men gone
And where are all the gods?
Where’s the street-wise Hercules
To fight the rising odds?
Isn’t there a white knight upon a fiery steed?

Late at night I toss and I turn and I dream
of what I need

[Chorus]

I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero ’til the end of the night
He’s gotta be strong
And he’s gotta be fast
And he’s gotta be fresh from the fight
I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero ’til the morning light
He’s gotta be sure
And it’s gotta be soon
And he’s gotta be larger than life

Somewhere after midnight
In my wildest fantasy
Somewhere just beyond my reach
There’s someone reaching back for me
Racing on the thunder and rising with the heat
It’s gonna take a superman to sweep me off my feet

[Chorus]

Up where the mountains meet the heavens above
Out where the lightning splits the sea
I could swear that there’s someone somewhere
Watching me

Through the wind and the chill and the rain
And the storm and the flood
I can feel his approach
Like the fire in my blood

[Chorus]

I need a hero. I’m holding out for a hero ’til the end of the night

4 thoughts on “i need a hero

  1. You have so hit a sore point with me on this one. There are times where I am so sick and tired of people saying you are this amazing super Mum etc etc. well blah blah blah. I so wish sometimes that someone could step I’m and take care of me and just for a change carry me. But I know a) it will never happen as at 47 I am too old and b) being so strong and independent scares the heck out of men and c) I have been this way too long and do not think I could change. Vicious circle. But I guess we can dream.

    • The “been this way too long i don’t think I could change” is pretty much today’s blog topic. And you’re right. Men are petrified of strong and independent women. Sad really. But at least we get things done!

Leave a Reply

