put down that cupcake!

Right, not so long ago I mentioned that my ass could stand to lose a few pounds, well maybe not so much my ass but my tummy for definite (even after 3 years I have that baby tummy) and @karlea from mirimoo commented that if I was keen then we could make a fun “challenge” out of it and support each other as weightloss buddies.
In matric I was between 60 and 65. Right now I’m probably in the 80’s, I know that realistically I shouldn’t aim at 60 as a 20kg loss in 4 months is pushing it just a little so instead I’ll try and get down to 70. If I end up below the 70 mark then that’s just a bigger bonus. I don’t own a scale (well I do but #theclan seem to think it’s a good thing to put their dirty laundry on so the battery died).
I wasn’t going to share my stats publically but seeing as @karlea was brave enough to so shall I. Plus it might help a little more in the motivation.

My stats as they are right now:

  • Weight: I don’t own a scale (well I do but #theclan seem to think it’s a good thing to put their dirty laundry on so the battery died). Next time we update I’ll make a mission to post both the current weight and this times weight. If I can find a scale…
  • Height: Last time I checked I was 164cm and I doubt I’ve grown much other than sideways since then ;)
  • Boobs: 110cm – yes I know they’re huge.
  • Chest: 91
  • Upper arms: 34cm both sides
  • Waist: 93cm – it’s that damn mommy tummy I told you about :(
  • Hips: 95cm
  • Thighs: 63cm both sides

According to all the lovely doctors and nutritional experts out there a lady of my age and height should aim for:

Based on the Robinson formula (1983), your ideal weight is 55.79kg
Based on the Miller formula (1983), your ideal weight is 58.55kg
Based on the Devine formula (1974), your ideal weight is 54.90kg
Based on the Hamwi formula (1964), your ideal weight is 54.29kg
Based on the healthy BMI recommendation, your recommended weight is between 48.89kg – 66.04kg

I’m not going to look at this so much as a WEIGHT LOSS thing or a DIET because that always encourages me to binge for some reason. Instead I am going to see this as… well I’m not sure. Let’s just call it a challenge to prove to the negative voice in my head that I CAN do it. I’m not sure I’ll make it down to these formula’s “ideal weight” but as I said. Even if I can get to 70 I’ll be happy.

We’ve also decided to each pick a goal to work towards. @karlea picked a pinup style shoot that I told her this morning I will sponsor if she succeeds in reaching the goal she has set out for herself. Right now I still am not sure what I want so I’ll give it a think and then update you on what it is with our biweekly update. Oh… and we have made December 15th the day of reckoning.

A few things I’ll be working on giving up (hells no am I going cold turkey as then I know I’m going to break and have a BAD time. Also, if I am craving something I am going to have it. Just in a tiny portion) are pepsi, sugar, bread. And I’m slowly getting into training. Yes I can run 10km happily but I think my body has become accustomed to it now so going to try something a little different. Instead I’m going to do the fitness program I did when I was in Germany, it’s tough but I’ve done it before so I know I can do it again. It’s a 14 week program that starts off with 2 weeks of conditioning and then gradually increases in intensity. It also means I’ll be finished with the program a week before our day of reckoning.

And before anyone takes this the wrong way – I do NOT want to be a walking stick figure, sure I would like to lose a few kg’s yes but my goal is not to be a size 0 supermodel who eats nothing. I simply want to be healthier and fitter because my son deserves a healthy mom.

Wish us luck!

11 thoughts on “put down that cupcake!

  1. Good luck! I am also aiming to lose 8kg over the next couple of months – I went to gym last night (instead of downing a bottle of wine) and it’s a start! I’ll be your cheerleader on the side if you’ll be mine *pom poms ready* :D

  2. Pingback: working off those cupcakes «

Leave a Reply

