from aardvark to zuma

Okay firstly this is not sponsored, well I guess it sort of was but no one held a gun to my head and told me to write this…

Sometimes Penguin Books sends me the strangest of books, one such is the new book from Alex Latimer. It’s not the sort of book I’d head to the bookshop in search of BUT that being said there is a copy currently on its way to friends across the pond who moved there recently.

It’s hilarious. Not a novel and most definitely not a kids A to Z book as I first thought it to be, this is a book you’d give to a South African, someone who has been here for many years because no one else will understand. It’s the A-Z of things that make our country, well our country!

When I was in Germany I watched a Barry Hilton skit for the first time and I laughed so hard I nearly wet myself because even though most of us say we are proudly South African it’s only until someone else points out our little quirks that we realize just how PROUDLY we are… you cannot deny that there are those few specific things that simply MAKE us. Our braai’s, our chutney and our strange want to put all gold onto everything.

Alex captures all this in his book. And for those of you who are looking for a quirky, fun gift to send to a saffa that has everything already then you’ve found it. This copy will one day go to Fysh who may or may not be a TRUE South African when he grows up one day but I’d like him to have it to understand WHY we braai every chance we get and why he should never EVER attempt to cuddle with a hippo…

3 thoughts on “from aardvark to zuma

Leave a Reply

