gobble gobble gook

It’s thanksgiving day across the big blue-ish pond and all my wonderful American friends are laying (or have already done so – not certain on time difference right now) the table with pretty decor in the fall (autumn) colours and making sure they don’t burn the turkey.

See, it’s holidays like this one that make me really wish I was an American. We don’t have a day set aside to give thanks here and I find that rather sad. Yeah okay, so their holiday is because of the pilgrimage but still… A whole day revolving around being grateful? I think we could do with a day like that here don’t you think?

So I might not be an American but I thought I’d just put it out there that though I might not be sitting around the table carving a turkey there is a lot I am grateful for at the moment.

My family – they are there no matter how many mistakes I make.
My son – he teaches me something new everyday, as much as I joke he’s such a pain the truth is that he has been nothing short than a blessing.
My friends – they put up with me, that right there makes them qualify for a nobel prize.
Everything – it’s simple, I am grateful for absolutely everything. I read somewhere today: life gives you what you need not what you want. Yes, I’m human and sometimes I’d really like a few things I want but when I look at what I have then I think that perhaps life really does know better.

What are you thankful for today?

One thought on “gobble gobble gook

Leave a Reply

