things this weekend taught me

It’s Monday morning and as of yet absolutely nothing entertaining or particularly fascinating has happened unless you count the fact that mum and I started the juice detox again today so nothing but juice and water for the next 5 days… it worked when we did it in Jan, was a great jump start to the weightloss thing and I’m happy to say that I’m officially in the lower 70’s so am hoping that this month will see me into the 60’s. Nearly at that goal!

Anyway, I thought I’d share a few lessons I learned over the weekend… these are things that you may or may not need to know one day my boy:

  • Shaving your hair is painful, it’s not ticklish or pleasurable at all it frigging hurts.
  • Having a cancer survivor tell you that you look beautiful without hair and that they are so grateful/proud of your support will make you cry no matter how hard you try not to.
  • When the wind blows over your shaved head it feels weird.
  • Your head will fascinate people, sometimes in a good way and other times not so much.
  • Times have progressed and people have started seeing beauty outside of the normal social norms but that doesn’t count for everyone and when you tell them why you did it they don’t always know how to react.
  • You get told you’re brave and that they would never do it. Then again that’s what everyone says about my choice to be a vegan as well so I think that this is more of a cop-out comment.
  • Carry sunscreen with you, at all times. A shaved head burns quickly and it’s painful! Plus I’m thinking that when the peeling starts it won’t look pretty so listen to Baz Lurman and just wear sunscreen!
  • Paint powder gets in EVERYWHERE, and I mean everywhere…
  • When a bunch of people get together at an event the vibe is intoxicating.
  • Dancing in heels the entire night is a bad idea, just don’t do it. You’ll regret it the next day.
  • There are people out there who are selfless and caring and don’t expect anything in return. They are few and far between but they are out there and they make the world a much better place just by being in it. I met another wonderful person like this who has offered to loan me their camera when I need it.
  • I love my crazy, ridiculous and sometimes infuriatingly nosy and interfering family more than anything in the world. I am blessed to call them mine!

*We have our first lot of beanies arriving this week! Thank you to everyone who has pledged beanies, I can’t wait to go and drop them off in April! Keep them coming :)
** Please don’t forget to vote for me in the Big Blog Exchange. Takes all of 2 minutes (I timed it)

4 thoughts on “things this weekend taught me

Leave a Reply

