the burly ones are the real softies…

Things have been kind of shitty lately and still aren’t quite back up to what I think I deserve but we’re getting there. And today has had a brilliant start so far…

I got visit kak early this morning from a friend who brought me a back a beautiful Hei Matau as a souvenir from New Zealand. It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside knowing my friends know me so well. Even if this one in particularly likes to pretend he’s a burly biker dude who never grew up…

A hei matau is a bone or greenstone carving in the shape of a highly stylised fish hook typical of the Māori people of New Zealand. The fish-hook shape of the hei matau finds its origins in Māori legend, which holds that the North Island of New Zealand was once a huge fish that was caught by the great mariner Maui using only a woven line and a hook made from the jawbone of his grandmother. Legend holds that the shape of Hawke Bay is that of the hei matau, which caught in the fish’s side on the beach. The Māori name for the North Island, Te Ika a Maui (“The fish of Maui”) reflects this legend.

For the Māori, the hei matau is taonga (a cultural treasure). It represents not only their land, but also prosperity, strength, good luck and safe passage over water. They also denote the importance of fishing to Māori, and their relationship to Tangaroa god of the sea.hei matau

Then I got a phone call from Michelle confirming my flight to Jozi next week for the #InfacareGold3 launch, excited to go up and see what the fuss is all about as well as finally meet some of the jozi moms I chat to on twitter! I’m feeling spoiled and a little bit famous right now. Roll on the 12th! (I promise to do a huge post about the whole trip/event but if you’re on twitter/instagram you’ll get the details as they happen!).

And now I’m going to enjoy the rain and get started on the incessant amount of cupcake toppers I need to prep for this weekend and next week…

9 thoughts on “the burly ones are the real softies…

  1. I love them. Did you also know that you are not supposed to buy they for yourself and need to be given one? I have one and LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

