hi ho silver AWAY!

This morning I woke up before the sun and headed through to the waterfront for Disney’s annual content showcase. It was strange going representing SA Kids on the Go, for one thing my real name was on my name badge… that never happens haha. My alter ego the cupcakemummy is usually in attendance when it comes to these sorts of things ;)

I’m a huge Disney fan, always have been and probably always will be. Don’t think they’ve released a bad film yet (none come to mind anyhow) and some of my firm favourites are Disney. Plus I’ll happily – albeit quietly – admit that I am a sucker for those Disney channel original movies… but sshhh… let’s keep that between us for now yes?

The 2013/2014 line up looks great! There are some must see’s coming up such as
*Planes (16 August 2013) – looks to be a spin off of cars but obviously with planes. It’s an animated comedy adventure featuring Dusty (voice of Dane Cook), a plane with dreams of competing as a high-flying air racer. But Dusty’s not exactly built for racing—and he happens to be afraid of heights. So he turns to a seasoned naval aviator who helps Dusty qualify to take on the defending champ of the race circuit.
*Thor the dark world (8 November 2013) – Oish, I guess this means I’ll need to make an effort to watch the first one, though watching the hotness that is in the trailer of the second one I’m not sure how I missed watching the first?!
*Frozen (27 December 2013) – Yay for a new festive season movie with a great new female heroin who (from the glimpsed prescreen preview) reminds me a lot of Merida from Brave.
*Captain America the winter soldier (14 April 2014) – This one picks up where Avengers left off which means I’ll need to re-watch the Avengers seeing as the last time I tried giving it a watch my girlfriends and I missed most of the movie in favour of ogling the yummy actors haha.
*Tinkerbell and the pirate fairy (2 May 2014) – Can’t wait for this! I love the tinkerbell movies, dub me a girl and put me in pink I don’t care.
*The good dinosaur (2 May 2014) – What if the cataclysmic asteroid that forever changed life on Earth actually missed the planet completely and giant dinosaurs never became extinct? It’s a story of a boy and his dog and the adventure they go off on, in this case though the boy is a dinosaur and the dog is a little human kid named Spot.
*Guardians of the galaxy (1 August 2014) – You’ll have to wait on more info on this one, I think it has something to do with a end scene from Avengers though I’m not certain.
*Maleficent (29 August 2014) – I’m upset that we have to wait so long for this one to release, it’s sleeping beauties tale told from the villains point. From the trailer that we got to see it’s a bit of a twist on the original tale and it looks brilliant, with Angelina Jolie taking on the role of Maleficent.

Along with getting to see what’s to come we were also treated to a goodie bag, popcorn/coke AND a prescreening of Disney’s new remake of The Lone Ranger.

I’ll admit I was a little worried, I’ve heard mixed reviews on it (okay so mostly only not so good ones) and seeing as I’ve seen the original as well as a good few remakes I had a vague “not again” notion but then Mr Depp got my attention and I decided to stick it out.

Depp plays these slightly demented roles so well it makes me wonder out loud if that’s what he’s like in person, the movie was a little flat and the humour forced at some parts but that being said I did laugh, but then again I’m used to the sailors and their dry humour. I’m a sucker for westerns though and thoroughly enjoyed it despite its short comings, if you’re not keen on a good old “skop skiet en donder” then give it a miss. Join Tonto and Kemo Sabe on their quest of retribution and revenge as they try save the damsel in distress and take on the greedy silver mining outlaws of the west.

From what I heard I was definitely not the only one enjoying it and from what I saw the western theme song got everyone watching’s foot tapping…

Oh and if you are going to watch it keep in mind two things: Tonto is a common Spanish/Italian word meaning “Stupid” and in the movie Kemo Sabe apparently means “wrong brother” but it originally derives from the Spanish phrase “quien no sabe,” meaning “he who does not know” which to me sits so much better and makes it so much funnier.

2 thoughts on “hi ho silver AWAY!

Leave a Reply

