book giveaway! – closed

Best way to start a Monday? With a giveaway of course!
Even better way to start a Monday? With a BOOK giveaway from Penguin Books South Africa!

Arclight – Josin McQuein
No one crosses the wall of light . . . except for one girl who doesn’t remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. A harrowing, powerful debut thriller about finding yourself and protecting your future—no matter how short and uncertain it may be.

The Arclight is the last defense. The Fade can’t get in. Outside the Arclight’s border of high-powered beams is the Dark. And between the Light and the Dark is the Grey, a narrow, barren no-man’s-land. That’s where the rescue team finds Marina, a lone teenage girl with no memory of the horrors she faced or the family she lost. Marina is the only person who has ever survived an encounter with the Fade. She’s the first hope humanity has had in generations, but she could also be the catalyst for their final destruction. Because the Fade will stop at nothing to get her back. Marina knows it. Tobin, who’s determined to take his revenge on the Fade, knows it. Anne-Marie, who just wishes it were all over, knows it.

When one of the Fade infiltrates the Arclight and Marina recognizes it, she will begin to unlock secrets she didn’t even know she had. Who will Marina become? Who can she never be again?

Born Wicked – Jessica Spotswood
Everybody knows Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship—or an early grave.

Before her mother died, Cate promised to protect her sisters. But with only six months left to choose between marriage and the Sisterhood, she might not be able to keep her word… especially after she finds her mother’s diary, uncovering a secret that could spell her family’s destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra.

If what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren’t safe. Not from the Brotherhood, the Sisterhood—not even from each other.

Sound interesting? Well two of you are going to be lucky enough to walk away with a copy of both!

I’ve given them both a read, yes I know they aren’t my usual smut selection but hey we all need a genre break now and then. They both pass with a thumbs up, only thing I didn’t like is that I now have to wait for the sequels (not that you HAVE to read the sequel, they’re both good as stand-a-lone books I’m just weird like that).

Entering is easy – just leave a comment bellow telling me what was the last book you read.
Remember to tweet/facebook/blog/instagram the competition… sharing is caring! and tag me (@cupcakemummy) and @PenguinBooksSA in it when you do so that we know you did :)
The two winners will be notified via email on Friday 18 October :)
Sorry to all my international readers but this one is open to South African residents only x

48 thoughts on “book giveaway! – closed

  1. LOL,last book I read was 50 Shades of Grey….I just read it because everyone else did..and I stopped at the 1st one so I’m in need of some good reading material again.

  2. The Host by Stephenie Meyer and am currently reading The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski, as recommended and lent to me by a friend. Loving it so far!

  3. Books are just up my alley *pulls hood up and looks carefully around* When My daughter is fast asleep I crack open a book and peer inside. Start reading and “whoosh!” get pulled inside the story. Hours later I take a deep breath and close the book, switch off the light and lie fast asleep! Give me a good crime/ thriller novel and I won’t be able to put the book down. New crime novels = late night enjoyment! Last book I read was by Peter Watson & Cecilia Todeschini – The Medici Conspiracy. The Illicit journey of Looted Antiquities from Italy’s Tomb Raiders to the World’s Greatest Museums:The antiquities Giacomo Medici was trading in included some of the finest objects ever produced by humankind – important historically, aesthetically, and intellectually. Many aspects of these important epochs of our past are still clouded in mystery. Virtually half of the history of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman culture in Italy has been stolen from us. The intellectual and artistic damage done by looters has been immense. Giacomo Medici played a bigger part in that destruction than anyone else. I shared on twitter(@flutterbymegs) and I am following @cupcakemummy and @PenguinBooksSA! Fingers crossed :) xxx

  4. Great competition, there is nothing better than winning some literature :)

    The last book I read was a re-read of Easy by Tammara Webber and am currently busy with True Love Story by Willow Aster (recommended by The Blessed Barroness)

  5. I haven’t read a book is so long :-( got caught up with my two little kiddies.. would love to get back into it. The last book I read was Sensative Parenting by sister lilian :-) I love novels though and can easy loose myself in them!! great was to distress!! Tweeted, twitter name: @FSoobramoney :-)

  6. The last book I finished was Consolation by Anna Gavalda.

    I’m currently busy with The little man from Archangel by Georges Simenon and Following Gandalf: epic battles and moral victory in The lord of the Rings by Matthew Dickerson.

  7. Oh gosh, I am book obsessed. Would love to win these. Last one I finished: Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton. Reading ATM Blood sisters (first of Langani trilogie) by Barbara and Stephanie Keating (love it) and Wonder by RJ Palacio – a fantastic read. Am sorry to be almost done with it.

  8. Last book as Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes but it was a while ago. I am ‘currently’ (in quotes because I haven’t picked it up in a month) reading a Bryce Courtenay book but am struggling to get into it. Need a good book to motivate me to read again *wink wink*

  9. The last book I read was “Memory in Death” JD Robb. I have been trying to read the books in sequence and it takes time to get them from a library. Memory in Death is book 22 and I think the latest book is 37.

  10. Last book I read was A Dance with Dragons part one ( the fifth book in the series A Song of Fire and Ice by George RR Martin) Everyone will know it better as Game of Thrones. The series is getting really difficult to read, but I am persevering through :) I am too insistent on reading books first before the series/movies come out :)

Leave a Reply

