sooooo, apparently I kick arse!

According to The Blessed Barrenness that is (but you better all frigging agree. Just saying)
I got tagged in the “a blog award from your peers for being awesome” thingy that’s going around at the moment. Because let’s face it, mommy bloggers don’t really get appreciated enough. Hell, the annual blogger awards don’t even have a category for us! (shame on them).

What are you working on right now?
Right this moment? Answering these questions ;)
But in general? Surviving every day and getting my sanity in check.
Also getting my little illustrations noticed so that I can hopefully afford to pay off all my debt at some point. Stupid bills :/

Where did the idea for the cupcakemummy (cupcakes and sailors)  blog come from?
Um… I started it back in 2006 (but I was on blogger back then) and mostly kept it up while I was in Germany so that my family could keep up with my daily goings on. My nickname has always been cupcake or CC among friends (though shamus calls me moglet and crowley calls me seaweed) then it morphed into cupcakemummy when I got preggers with Fysh and the blog became sort of a vent space for me. And when shit hit the fan and I became an only parent it was a great help in not keeping things bottled up. I never really thought it would end up being something like this.

What does your typical day look like?
Pretty boring actually. I get up at around 5 then loaf in bed till half five (some mornings till 6 but then I have to have a 3 minute shower – it’s possible!) at 06:15 we’re out the door and 06:30 the Fysh is at school. by 06:45 ish I’m at work and that’s where I am till 4pm. Then I fetch the brat and we’re home at around 5 or 6 (he never wants to leave granny) and then it’s bathtime and 7 is bed for him. Then I draw or read till about 1/2 and my day starts all over again.
See… boring. (weekends are usually awesome though)

How do you bring ideas to life?
What sort of ideas? I usually get a bee in my bonnet and then stalk people for advice or until they join me in the idea. Like #25daysofgifts and #nofilterday :P

What’s one trend that really excites you?
Don’t know? Not really someone who keeps up with the trends unless you count being a blogger?

What was the worst job you ever had and what did you learn from it?
Being an Au Pair in Germany. Seriously. It SUCKED! The country was breathtaking, the culture amazing and the village I lived in was one I would love to go back to but the family I was with… Eish. I’d suggest to anyone looking into it to get a GOOD agency, I went private and it was horrible cause in Germany your visa gets issued to that family so you can’t even change families. They completely ignored my contract, I got paid minimum wage and out of that I still have to pay the kids crafts stuff and transportation and anything else we did. They were never home so I was literally the mom. They fired the maid so I did all the cleaning and cooking as well. Never again. NEVER!

If you were to start again, what would you do differently?
I’d say not get knocked up at 20. I love Fysh but I really wish I’d been able to finish my studies first considering I had a full ride to study as a paramedic and medical diver as well as a job on the rigs when I was done.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and how would you go about it?
Tough one. Maybe Racism/Religionism (is that a word?) I think that if those two things were eradicated it would be easier to manage everything else. We’ve gone from a white dominated country to the opposite instead of the equality that was aimed for. And yes. It SUCKS cause it’s not MY generations fault but we’re still punished for it.

Tell us a secret.
If I tell you then it won’t be a secret anymore…

What are your three favorite online tools or resources and what do you love about them?
Twitter – because um… well I don’t know really?
GoodReads – I shouldn’t be on there. It’s bad for my reading addiction but I just can’t stop. All those recommendations for awesome books I wouldn’t have heard of otherwise. Oh be still my beating heart.
Instagram – I’m a puddle jumping camera slave!

What is the one book that you recommend people should read and why?
You do know that up till today I’ve read 181 books this year along right? Some REALLY brilliant ones that I’ve loved and adored and cried in and laughed through. But if I had to choose just one then I’d go with Melissa Delport’s Rainfall. It’s thoughtful, it’s realistic, it’s no fairytale happily ever after. It will make you laugh, think, cry the ugly cry and even want to punch someone in the face. Just go read it, you can thank me later.

Three people we should follow on Twitter and why?
Seriously now? Why do you keep giving me a damn limit?!
Um… I really can’t pick out just three. Simply refuse to do it. There are far too many that I love and adore and who have been there for me throughout the year and spared kind words and made me laugh when I didn’t feel like I could carry on so no, I’m sorry but I’m not answering this one.

When was the last time you laughed out loud? What caused it?
Saturday. A new friend that I’ve made. And no you don’t know him. But he’s pretty damn awesome.

Who is your hero?
My parents. All three of them. And my son.
They’ve taught me unconditional love, patience, how to survive no matter what life throws at you. How to smile through the darkness and that support is only an admittance for help needed away. Things aren’t always sunshine and daisies but the people you surround yourself make it worth sticking out. That we are each our own fairy godmother, that life is not a wish granting factory and no one is perfect or infinite. They are and always will be my hero’s.

Bloggers who you would like to take part?
Now to pick mommy bloggers who haven’t already been nominated… puts on thinking cap.
Aspie Writer – An author and a mom. Awesome lady in general even though we’ve never met.
Love, Kids and other things – not so much a mommy blogger but she has a tribe of 4 so I think that counts.
There to hear – She’s just. Well she’s awesome and kinda gets me. I think.

5 thoughts on “sooooo, apparently I kick arse!

Leave a Reply

