dearest rent-a-crowd

This weekend I heard through the grapevine that another blogger/s have apparently had a lot to say about #25daysofgifts, a lot of trashy things. Things like how it’s a cheesy/sleazy way to drive up traffic on my blog. That it’s so “rent a crowd”.

Well I’m so sorry that I decided I’d like to try and bring people a little festive joy in a time that is usually a stressful one. Yes it’s driven up blog traffic but that wasn’t at all my motivation for doing it, apart from one of my participators sending Fysh a little something I haven’t actually received or asked for anything in return. We all know that this time of year is about sharing the love and that was my mission, to give back a small fraction of what I’ve received this year.

I’ve been debating whether or not to actually do a post on this (I guess the do it won). I think that if I was off my meds I’d probably have ranted and bitched and gone off on a tangent but I have decided that all I really have to say on this matter is this: I am so sorry you’re jealous that you didn’t think of it first.

And to my “rent a crowd”, whether you stick around or not after #25daysofgifts is totally up to you  but I’d like to let you (and ALL the companies who helped make this happen) that you have all been AWESOME. It’s been a bit more work than I bargained on but I would do this again in a heartbeat.

21 thoughts on “dearest rent-a-crowd

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head, they are so jealous you thought of it first!

    I think its a brilliant idea, its fun and definitely in the spirit of the season.

    Also, it would never have occurred to me that it would be a ‘rent-a-crowd stunt’, maybe because I dont care about my own stats, I always think no one else cares about stats either…

    Perhaps these nay-sayers care a bit too much about their own stats and are taking their frustrations out on you.

    Either way, fuck ’em!

    You keep on keeping on :)

  2. Wow! Some people can be so petty! I really enjoy reading your blog, always have. I’m sure many others do too. Jealousy really makes people nasty. Chin up! You’re doing great!

  3. People are stupid and jealous. It’s not easy do do any type of giveaway (never mind 25 of them in a row) so you deserve any extra traffic that you may get and there’s nothing wrong with giving people free stuff.
    You’re doing a great job – stuff those losers

  4. *sigh* I am so sick & tired of these types of bloggers who think they own the blogosphere and have the right to dictate how & what we blog! It’s your blog, do what you want, NO ONE has the right to dictate what you blog about!

  5. Hello, my name is Lauren and I wish I thought about what you are doing – I kid, not really! I love, nay, adore what you are doing – spreading the love and the joy over the festive season.

    I have practically zero traffic to my blog and I also heard a whole bunch of crap when I started the Delish Box and the CPT Blogger Meet about how I am just trying to get free shit! Its crap. Its actually a little more than that – its pathetic.

    Just keep doing what you are doing, you are great at it! Who cares about the rest!!!

  6. Laughing at the way you’ve expressed this! Some people can be such arseholes (mega mega super uber arseholes) and I’d agree that they only criticise because they didn’t think of it first. Ignore them. Do whatever the hell you like. :-)

  7. Lots of bloggers hold competitions and giveaways, so I don’t see what all the fuss is about. . .

    I think it’s great that you decided to host a “festive” giveaway #25daysofgifts and it really is nasty of anyone to pick on you for doing this. . .

    Thanks for doing it actually, I’ve been having fun entering them :-)

    xxx

  8. I don’t blog but I have noticed those most vocal about rent a crowds and dictating what should and shouldn’t be blogged are pretty quick to post anything for a freebie. Does that make them ‘social media experts?’

  9. Don’t most people just use RSS feeds anyway? Sure people will come here to comment, but what difference does that kind of traffic make when most people read your blog without actually visiting it? And is that traffic supposed to somehow equate to popularity? Clearly these jealous people are unable to think clearly.

  10. Seriously.

    Do people actually have enough time on their hands to bitch about what one blogger is doing versus another? Really? Wish I had that extra time!

    You just carry on doing what you are doing and let them all get a life!

  11. You said it and put it so well! I really think you did the right thing by saying something, and standing up for yourself, your readers and the awesome companies who sponsored #25daysofgifts :) Don’t change for anyone, and thanks for spreading the Christmas Cheer…YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!! XXXXX

Leave a Reply

