i need a soapbox moment

I know this is one of those controversial subjects that are completely taboo and no one dares write about it unless they’re trying to bash their beliefs into you but then again I blog about borderline personality disorder and bipolar depression so we all know I don’t really give a crap about what we should or shouldn’t talk about.

Today one of those Jehovah’s witness guys came around our office complex handing out little book things. At first I didn’t realise he was one of those (I say one of those because they tend to harass you at home and preach to you and convert you) and the titles of the first few really intrigued me so I said yeah I’ll take for the staff (they were free anyway) and then of course the penny dropped and I had to try keep a straight face else I’d be in for “the lecture”.

those Jehovah's witness books

Now in my opinion (note that this is MINE and you can have yours) I honestly do not see the religious issues in this world, wait I phrased that wrong. I do not understand the religious issues in this world. Much better.

If you look close enough, at the end of the day each religion believes in something right? You might call it God, they might call it Christ, she might call it Allah, He might call it Satan, I might call it positive thinking or energies. Simple fact is that to me it all boils down to the same thing. So why exactly are there people who INSIST that THEIR way is the only way? You have your beliefs, I have mine. Can’t we just wrap our heads around that and be on our merry way? Why do we have people blowing themselves up or going around bible bashing those who “veered off the path of righteousness”?

I mean really now. The religious wars are almost as bad as the racial wars; the only difference is that most races tend to turn on each other if they aren’t in the same “clan”. Maybe it’s another form of nature’s population control. Who really knows? And sadly I don’t see it ever ending which is something that sort of bothers me a little.

I was brought up Catholic, changed to Methodist and then found Paganism. I still follow most of the Pagan traditions and form of thought and I don’t press any one religion on Fysh and have expressed how much I despise the fact that they push Christianity on him at school because I’m tired of him telling me how Jesus will punish me or that Jesus won’t love me etc because I don’t pray to him and so on. Unfortunately unless you home-school it’s hard to find one that doesn’t, even when I was at school my parents used to write letters excusing me from the mandatory “religious classes” and that’s just ridiculous.

Anyway, that’s my little rant for the day.
I’ll get off my soapbox now and let you all be.

4 thoughts on “i need a soapbox moment

  1. I come from a Dutch Reformed family. (NG kerk), My family (uncle, aunt, cousins) are ordained ministers. Baptists, I think. I am marrying Catholic. What do I believe? I believe there is something out there. Bigger than any human can comprehend. Call him/it what you want. We aren’t all randomly put here. We can’t be. They way I see it all religions boil down to the same values. Respect each other, be kind and love.

  2. I can’t wrap my mind around the fact that Jehovah’s Witnesses think it’s okay to walk around bothering people. Nothing pisses me off more than a Jehovah’s Witness knocking on my door on a Sunday. It’s Sunday, FFS, so F the F off!!! You’re trying to relax, and you do not want to be bothered!
    Can you imagine the outrage and pitchforks if I went door to door peddling Satanism, Paganism, or even Atheism?

    If a Jehovah’s Witness bothers you, tell him you’re apostate.

  3. I agree 100% with your post. I was brought up Roman Catholic, converted to Christianity, and now, well now I don’t know. I haven’t practiced any form of religion is about 12, 13 years or so and I’m quite fine with that. I believe that what you put out there, will return to you.

  4. I’m a believer. I am, what *I* consider Christian. I believe in the ethos of the Christian faith but I don’t go to church and for some that makes me automatically a non-believer.
    I’m not a Methodist, or a Baptist, or a Catholic or whatever, I am a believer in Christ and in my eyes, my relationship and faith in HIM is mine and mine alone and not one that I feel I need to be bashing into others.

Leave a Reply

