raw vegan chocolate

Right… So apparently all women are addicted to chocolate. Personally I’ve never been a huge fan unless it’s the dark DARK kind as the normal bars taste more like sugar than actual chocolate.

A good friend gave me a slab of the lindt 85% saying he’s not sure if it’s actually vegan but wanted to get me something anyway. It says: may contain traces of milk so it will sit in my fridge. Kinda like flowers in my fridge instead of on the counter and it won’t die haha. Yes I’m weird like that.

Anyway, it got me thinking… vegan chocolate, there’s go to be a recipe so I went on a google hunt and found this one, thought I’d share it.

Ingredients
♥ 200g cacao paste, melter
♥ 100g cacao butter, melted
♥ 1/4 cup agave
♥ seeds of one vanilla pod
I found everything at a healthfood store but if you’re not vegan then maybe use honey or maple syrup instead.

How to:
♥ melt cacao paste and butter in a double boiler (I put a bowl into my veggie steamer) at a low temperature.
♥ put the melted liquid into a power blender.
♥ add the agave and vanilla seeds and blend (can be mixed by hand though if you don’t have a blender)
♥ pour into ice tray or mould and allow it to set in the fridge.

That’s it! Now you can do whatever you want with it… drizzle it over fruit, pour it into molds like i did, spread it on a baking sheet and make bars or have a little kinky fun ;)

Just a side note: these chocolates get “melty” pretty quickly (especialy in the SA heat) so keep em in the fridge and be prepared to have a little chocolate left on your fingers after eating it. But then again, a little mess never hurt anyone :P

Thinking that next time I should make som raw almond butter and make a vegan version of Reese’s peanutbutter cups :)

image

8 thoughts on “raw vegan chocolate

Leave a Reply

