triangles and a media launch

In Feb I received an invite to a product launch and decided that it was about time I started accepting the invites again and get back out there (well that the online me should start getting out there again) so I said that I would happily attend if it were alright for me to bring a +1 as I knew there would be no one I know there and we all know how my anxiety plays up. Thankfully they said yes.

And so, on the 5th I attended the Cape Town launch of Samsung’s latest Triangle air conditioner. I’ll admit that when I accepted the invite I didn’t really know what the launch was for and up until that evening the only thing I knew about air conditioners were that they are a necessary luxury in the SA summers.decor

The event was well planned, the staff were friendly and everyone was happy to answer any questions you might have. The décor garnered me a few quizzical looks from other attendees as it had me instagramming all the beautiful geometric designs. During the speeches I had another blogger moment (pretty sure you can easily point us out at events) and sat tweeting and making notes to share with everyone. I can happily say that I know a whole lot more about air conditioning now than I did when I walked in there.

The new Samsung Air Conditioner (AR09HSSFAWK) is engineered to be exceptionally efficient and to deliver exceptional cooling, comfort and hygienic benefits with a striking design. Its unique triangular design has a wider inlet, wider outlet and a bigger fan to ensure that air is cooled and expelled faster, further and wider while it can maintain the desired temperature without frequently shutting off and on, so it consumes less electricity. Samsung’s Digital Inverter Technology helps users to stay cool for long periods of time, while using the minimum amount of energy. The Fast Cool mode allows the air conditioner to cool any room quickly. It then automatically changes the mode to Comfort Cool to maintain the desired temperature. Users won’t feel cold and don’t have to keep manually changing the settings or turning the air conditioner on and off. In addition, the Virus Doctor and Easy Filter eliminate dust, contaminants, allergens, bacteria and viruses.

Also… It’s pretty and we all know how much I adore the cold :)

Despite latching onto and using my +1 as a shield I did actually manage to say hello to one or two people including Michael McKenchie (Business Leader for Digital Air Solutions at Samsung Electronics South Africa AKA the big kahoona) and Carmen who I think is one of the lovely communications people who help put the evening together.

The gelana afrikaorgeous Elana Afrika-Bredenkamp was also there but I had a bit of a starstruck moment and ran in the opposite direction even though I was introduced to Michael as “relatively well known” < that got me blushing to my roots btw.

I’m glad I went mainly because I can say I learned something new and am looking forward to seeing what Samsung comes up with next. Also, a big thank you to Samsung for the Virus doctor I won for my car (yay me) as well as an even bigger thanks for the beautiful “thank you for joining us” gift that was delivered with the press pack the following morning.

Disclaimer: I’ve written this post because I wanted to not because it was expected of me or because I was paid or bribed to.

One thought on “triangles and a media launch

Leave a Reply

