aspiring hooker

No man, not THAT kind of hooker! Get your mind out of the gutter.

I’ve started working towards ticking things off my bucket list; next week we’re going on our 2nd camping trip for the year, I’ve been trying to read and The Person is helping me fix up the yard. This weekend I started working on #11 – Learn to crochet. crochet cupcake

Yup I’m taking lessons and I’m hooked :P
It’s so much fun and Jill from Jam Tarts is such a patient teacher that you’re able to pick up what is what fairly quickly. I know 2 kinds of stitches as well as how to keep the right amount of stitches when you go up a row (straight edges ftw). Classes are every Saturday for a month and you’re supposed to have at least one project done by the end of the 4 weeks – I think I’m going to aim for an owl beanie, or maybe a cupcake beanie haha.

This week’s “project” was fingerless mittens and I finished mine yesterday already (told you I’m hooked) so I’ve started making Fysh a pair cause he keeps wanting mine but they’re a bit big for him and once his are done I’ll be making The Person a pair as well. I hope these two realise that they are going to be guilt tripped into wearing a whole lot of crocheted crafts cause I’m thinking beanies and chunky scarves and winter slippers…crocheting

There are a lot of youtube videos and tutorials out there but if you’re like me and prefer someone to show you (and of course if you live in cape town) then give Jill a call. Seriously, her house is this cute little crafty haven and you feel inspired to learn EVERY kind of stitch there is so that you can also make crocheted lampshades and sofa covers. Seriously, I want to live there!

cupcake and fysh

I made the mittens in this photo but not the beanies, those were gifts from Jill and Fysh loves his purple beanie (he chose it) so much he even slept with it on last night and today he’s wearing it to school for show and tell. I swear if they tease him for it being purple I am phoning mothers.

9 thoughts on “aspiring hooker

    • Hahaha! Thanks ;)
      Just finished up a pair of fingerless gloves for Fysh and he loves them. Next up I’m making a cowl and a beanie. Determined to master this crochet thing.

Leave a Reply

