frogs in water

It’s the first Friday night in a few months that The Person isn’t around, he’s off on the other side of the country for a few weeks, and i’m feeling lost. I didn’t put two and two together till now though but hey, there you have it. Over the past several months I have grown so accustomed to this extra pair of legs being around over a weekend that the first one he isn’t I stand around not sure what to do, which is funny considering the 4 1/2 years I managed alone prior. But yes, I will be that sappy person that says I miss him already. 

Funny how quickly we acclimatize to something, be it the weather, a culture, a person… or as topic had it around the braai – the prices. We have some family here from over the waters and they were complaining about how expensive South Africa has become. We live here and keep paying higher and higher prices and we get so used to it that we don’t even notice. There’s this experiment where you throw a frog into a boiling pot of water and he jumps out but if you put him in a pot of cold water and slowly heat it up he’ll just keep swimming till his blood boils. We’re all just frogs in pots. 

I’m tired, sleep was a stingy bitch last night, and i’m sure that I could take this topic to hights of epic proportions but I’ll just leave you to chew on it while I head to bed and dream of the little hippy community we’ll live in one day. 

Leave a Reply

