Cyclothymia

Cyclothymia, also called cyclothymic disorder is a type of chronic mood disorder widely considered to be a more chronic but milder or subthreshold form of bipolar disorder.

I saw the psychiatrist yesterday, firstly I really miss the private sector where the psychiatrist actually listens to you (or pretends to anyway.) I often feel like I’m talking to the walls when it comes to my current psych, sure he listens but we just don’t gel if you know what I mean and I know that’s important, I just don’t have many options. He’s a good guy, I think he’s just overly busy with seeing so many patients.

Regardless, we had a chat about how hard the last month and a bit has been and that the past few weeks it’s just been getting worse. Me in tears trying to explain this while he’s making coffee. It’s hard. But as it turns out he’s suspects that we can add cyclothymia to my list of issues. It explains a lot, and it’s not common but it can accompany borderline personality disorder. Thankfully I’m not bipolar, even though bipolar is treated a lot easier than a chronic disorder is at least it’s more “stable”. Yay me, I just keep chalking them up. BUT it means that I have something to work on, new coping mechanisms are going to be needed and old ones tweaked along with my medication which has been upped but now there’s a diagnosis and we I can work on it.

The one thing I need to keep remembering is that it’s not my fault.

9 thoughts on “Cyclothymia

  1. This sucks! Really it does… I have no idea what you are going through, BUT I do know that it is not your fault. I hope that next time I am in CT we can go and have a picnic and forget about all the crap… Eat cupcakes and maybe watch the sunset. Hugs xxx

  2. Nope, it is not your fault. I know that when I was going through a tough time I only went to the Psychiatrist for meds… and to an clinical Psychologist for all the talking. Would that work for you?

  3. Ah babe I’m sorry. I totally inderstand regarding the pshyciatrist- mine was the same. If you can, seig a pshyciatris and pshycologist together might help… In terms of cost maybe a pshycologist and a good physician. Anyway, try to not get consumed by a label. Yes it’s good to know what is wrong in order to know what to work on, but do not let it define who you are.

  4. I’ve learned something new today; cyclotyhmia. Thank you. Perhaps there is an organisation in your area offering psychological services, someone you can talk to? Don’t blame yourself and don’t allow this diagnoses to define who you are.

  5. Pingback: Can A Bipolar Be A Good Mother? Jigsaw Parenting

Leave a Reply

