it’s okay. the tshirt.

Depresssion, borderline personality disorder, self harm, addiction.
All these things are stigmatised and not talked about but they are real as the people who suffer from them.
Thankfully there are people out there who care and who dedicate their lives to helping these people.

Recently I hit a REALLY dark time, it was bad, it was “where’s the blade” bad but I thankfully I have a lot of support and am surrounded by people who really care. I got through it. What really got me though is a non profit organisation called SADAG (South African Depression and Anxiety Group) who got hold of me on twitter and sent me supporting messages and offered to stay up with me and talk if that’s what I needed.)

I did a drawing during this, it spurted after I wrote the words “it’s okay” for myself to stick on my wall. Nym was the result. She’s me. And she’s saying that it’s okay, it’s okay to be sad or upset, to be tall or skinny or large. It’s okay to be you.

So I’ve turned her into a tshirt using a great company where you can design a campaign and you’re only charged if you reach your target. I’ve got it at 25 shirts, so if 25 people promise to buy it then they’ll go to print. I’m hoping that 25 of you are willing to support me on this. I’ll be sad if it doesn’t happen but I’ll also kinda understand.

Also, half of the profits will go to www.SADAG.org, they don’t know about this yet but hopefully we can deposit a something in their account to say thank you for all that they do.

You guys are amazing. Thank you for all the support over the years and listening reading all the drama, the highs and the lows and the strange rambles that happen in my brain.

INTERNATIONAL BUYERS: they don’t ship to you so choose the collect from buyer option and then email me and let me know you’ve done so with your address and I’ll post it to you once it’s arrived at me.

Sales are here: It’s Okay tees

tshirt

15 thoughts on “it’s okay. the tshirt.

  1. I admire you for speaking out about it. Being raised by a depressed mom was not easy and as a child we were forced to accept things without understanding it. Imagine the resentment. Thank you for accepting messages of support and for getting through it. It makes my heart glad that people are actually talking about it more and that it’s lost its initial stigma. Just thinking of the years my mom missed out on, all because of her feeling ashamed about it.

  2. Reblogged this on Beauty and The Baby Blog and commented:
    A person who I admire so very much is Coral-Leigh, from Cupcake Mummy, as she has spoken out about mental illnesses in ways that I only wish I could. Darren and I both have our own demons: he has bi-polar; I have depression. And man, some days can get really dark. I am lucky to have this relationship, though, as we tend to rely on one another to pull the other out of their slump. The reason I have never really spoken out, is quite possibly because of the stigma attached to living life with a mental illness, especially as a parent. You don’t necessarily want to give internet-trolls more fuel, you know? Anyway, I figured that to raise awareness and mould a world where people accept one another, is to start speaking out and stop the stigma. Coral-Leigh is a great artist and in many ways, she uses her amazing drawings as an outlet. I have been wanting to order one of her pieces for ages, and this is the one that struck home. Thank you for that, my dear! I will be placing my order on Wednesday and hope that you will order a shirt too, because I can guarantee that there is always going to be someone who needs to know that, “IT’S OKAY!” I plan on wearing this shirt with pride – but can only do so, if we reach her goal of 25 orders. Please help! It’s a good cause and fantastic initiative – plus, it creates awareness on things we often sweep under the carpet.

  3. You’re doing a beautiful thing, my friend. A brave thing. And it’s a truth that braveness inspires more braveness, and I thank you for that.

    Will you offer Nym on anything other than a T-shirt? I’m not a t-shirt person myself, but would love her on a card, notebook or writing paper. Or coffee mug! Xxx

    • The other half of the profits are going to go towards getting Nym out there on other things. I don’t have start up capital so the tshirts are my foot up and we’ll build up and up and up :) I can print her on stationary for you? she’s also going to go on cards really soon

  4. I love the t-shirt. I have a friend who has some of the same problems you have and I will be ordering a t-shirt for her. She is like a daughter to me. I also have a granddaughter who is 12 and has some autism characteristics, along with self harming issues. Thank you so much for sharing your story. I can’t wait to read more and I will definitely purchase your book. Have a great day. :)

  5. Sorry, I wish I could order 2 shirts but they don’t ship to the US yet. Maybe I can get my friend Jill Goldberg from South Africa to order two for me? :)

  6. Pingback: April Roundup and Linky | South African Mom Blogs

Leave a Reply

