bring the funk junk swop

I attended my very first of the infamous junk swops arranged by Meg from Mind The Curves and I throughly enjoyed every minute of it!

So I walked into her house with 3 rather large tog bags full of clothing that I sorted out my cupboard that I don’t wear (yes I’m a bit of a hoarder) and after a really fun time I left with one easily closed tog with stuff I’d actually wear. It felt like I’d spent the day shopping but it didn’t cost me anything and at the same time I got to cleanse myself of a little cupboard chaos.

It is SO well organised. I was a little worried about how it would actually work with so many woman and things to want but Megs is a genius! Everything is put into a pile on the side and then Megs holds up each item at a time. If you want it you put your hand up, if more than one person wants it cards are used, whoever gets the highest card gets the item. If no one wants it then it goes into a pile in the middle of the room, afterwards Megs sorts through the middle pile and passes it on to charities who need it. Brilliant right?

I scored 3 scarves that match my hair, 2 dresses, 2 jeans, 2 house pants, 2 leggings, 2 jumpers, 2 skirts, 2 tops, a hat and a laptop stand for The Person and nunchucks for Fysh as well as a queen size down duvet, two hand painted sugar skull pillow cases and 3 pretty rings. I also ate far too much!

scarf

leggings

sugar skull

I didn’t know we could take other items as well so I’m definitely planning on spamming everyone with stuff from around the house next time as well. If you’re keen on attending the next one (in about 3 months) get hold of Meg on twitter (@mindthecurves) and have a chat to get on the list (sorry, cape town and surrounds only unless you’re willing to fly in or drive from far :P).

2 thoughts on “bring the funk junk swop

Leave a Reply

